We are the most effective way to get your press release into the hands of reporters and news producers. Check out our client list.

New Novel Sure to Delight Fans of J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis; Combines Adventure Story with Philosophical Questions

Contact: Rose Trabbic, Publicist, Ignatius Press, 239-867-4180, rose@ignatius.com

SAN FRANCISCO, April 5, 2011 /Christian Newswire/ -- The thrilling new novel "Toward the Gleam" by T.M. Doran opens between the two world wars, when on a hike in the English countryside, Professor John Hill takes refuge from a violent storm in a cave. There he nearly loses his life, but he also makes an astonishing discovery -- an ancient manuscript housed in a cunningly crafted metal box. Though a philologist by profession, Hill cannot identify the language used in the manuscript and the time period in which it is was made, but he knows enough to make an educated guess -- that the book and its case are the fruits of a long-lost, but advanced civilization.

The translation of the manuscript and the search for its origins become a life-long quest for Hill. As he uncovers an epic that both enchants and inspires him, he tracks down scholars from Oxford to Paris who can give him clues. Along the way, he meets several intriguing characters, including a man keenly interested in obtaining artifacts from a long-lost civilization that he believes was the creation of a superior race, and will help him fulfill his ambition to rule other men. Concluding that Hill must have found something that may help him in this quest, but knowing not what it is and where it is hidden, he has Hill, his friends at Oxford, and his family shadowed and threatened until finally he and Hill face off in a final, climatic confrontation.

"Toward the Gleam" is a gripping story that features a giant pirate and slaver, a human chameleon on a perilous metaphysical journey, a mysterious hermit, and creatures both deadly and beautiful. Not merely an adventure story, this is also a novel that explores the consequences of the predominant ideas of the 20th Century. Several characters are based on famous writers from the 20th Century, and part of the mystery if the story is discovering who they are.

Author T.M. Doran says, “Although the 20th Century was littered with dehumanizing ideas that produced much misery, it was also a century that boasted counter-cultural 'giants' who did everything in their power to thwart these inhuman ideologies. This is a story about these giants and their grand adventure to oppose that dark tide."

To request a review copy or an interview with author T.M. Doran, please contact: Rose Trabbic, Publicist, Ignatius Press, (239)867-4180 or rose@ignatius.com.