We are the most effective way to get your press release into the hands of reporters and news producers. Check out our client list.

Sky Angel Unwraps Biggest Package of Christmas and New Year's Specials to Celebrate the Reason for the Season: Christ's Birth

Christ-centered musicals, dramas, inspirational programs and shows for children and teens adorn two marathons. And for the fun of it, viewers will also be treated to a retro marathon featuring classic Christmas TV from the '50s and '60s

 

Contact: Nancy Christopher, Vice President, Corporate Communications, Sky Angel/Dominion Video Satellite Inc., 239-403-9130 ext. 213, 239-821-8796 cell, Nancy.Christopher@skyangel.com

 

NAPLES, Fla., Dec. 20 /Christian Newswire/ -- This Christmas weekend and the following New Year's holiday weekend, Sky Angel unwraps its biggest ever broadcast package of Christmas and New Year's specials that includes three Christmas special marathons, a New Year's Eve Christian music video countdown, and a concert event featuring GMA (Dove) Award-winning Christian music group Delirious.

 

Sky Angel is America's multi-channel satellite television service dedicated to Christian-inspirational and family entertainment programming. These special presentations are just the tip of the iceberg--scores of Christ-honoring Christmas programs have been airing throughout the month on the various 30-plus TV and radio channels carried on Sky Angel.

 

There's something for every member of the family when Sky Angel airs its trilogy of Christmas marathons this weekend--Sky Angel Christmas Marathon, It's a KTV Christmas Marathon and Sky Angel Classic Christmas Marathon-- beginning Saturday, December 23, and running through Tuesday, December 26, on Sky Angel's special events channel, Angel Two/Channel 9702, and its kids and teens channel, KTV/Channel 9703.

 

"We had such a tremendous response to our Christmas marathons last year that we expanded what was once a 24-hour Sky Angel Christmas Marathon to 40 hours, as well as compiled a fun lineup of holiday shows for kids and teens that rival in quality mainstream youth-oriented TV programs," said Kathleen Johnson, Sky Angel's vice president of programming. "It's exciting to have a Christian-owned, multi-channel television platform like Sky Angel where we can air so many specials that celebrate the real reason for the season."

 

  • Sky Angel Christmas Marathon features an expanded lineup of 40 hours of back-to-back holiday musicals, dramas, movies and inspirational programs with Christ at the heart of them. The marathon begins at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT on December 24, and runs through 4 a.m. ET/1 a.m. PT on December 26, on Angel Two. Programs include Joyce Meyer Christmas, Texas Country Christmas filmed live at the Lonesome Dove Ranch, St. Nicolas Circle hosted by famous artist Thomas Kinkade, and many others.

 

  • It's a KTV Christmas is a day of Christmas-themed, Christ-centered specials for children that will air all day Christmas day, featuring programs such as A Wobots Christmas, a new computer-animated special from the Gaithers that tells the story of a little boy and a group of robots who ward off a plot to ruin Christmas; First Christmas, a reverent clay-animation adaptation of the biblical nativity story, narrated by actor Christopher Plummer; and many more. This 14-hour Christmas marathon will air starting at 7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT, December 25, on KTV.

 

  • Sky Angel Classic Christmas Marathon, featuring 24 hours of old-fashioned holiday musicals, Christmas shows and movies from the '50s and '60s, kicks off at 12 a.m. ET on December 23 (9 p.m. PT December 22) with Hollywood Palace's Bing Crosby & Family Special. Sing along with Bing and stay tuned for back-to-back vintage TV specials and movies starring such entertainment greats as Jack Benny, Ray Bolger, Gary Cooper, Charles Boyer and many others in this retro Christmas marathon on Angel Two.

 

  • And to ring in the new year, two special New Year's Eve events geared to teens and young adults are scheduled to air--one on KTV and the other on the 24-hour Christian alternative music video channel TVU/Channel 9705.

    Through its partnership with SPIRIT Music Television, KTV will be airing legendary Christian band Delirious' concert recorded live this summer at Willow Creek Church in Chicago. The concert will air at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on December 31 and re-air New Year's Day, January 1, at 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT and 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

    Also on New Year's Eve, TVU will be airing a special three-hour broadcast of its Ten Most Wanted show counting down the top 25 Christian music videos of 2006. The countdown begins at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT on December 31 and re-airs at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT.

 

About Sky Angel and Dominion Video Satellite Inc.
Celebrating 25 years since its founding and, this month, 10 years on the air, Sky Angel delivers nationwide over 30 TV and radio channels of quality Christian programming, popular family entertainment, and 24-hour news that can enhance an existing cable or satellite TV service or be received exclusively virtually anywhere in the 48 continental United States and certain U.S. territories. Sky Angel owner/operator Dominion Video Satellite Inc. is among America's three multi-channel, high-power direct broadcast satellite (DBS) operators and the only one dedicated to Christian and family entertainment. Its Sky Angel service carries the widest variety of Christian-inspirational channels available through cable or satellite. Homes currently receive Sky Angel through a small 20-inch satellite dish for $14.99/month or $149.90/year. Churches, nursing homes, colleges and more also subscribe to the Sky Angel service. Dominion was the second company to apply to the Federal Communications Commission for a high-power DBS license in 1981 and is the sole surviving DBS pioneer from that first round of nine applicants. More about Sky Angel, including a free video upon request, is available at www.skyangel.com or (800) SKY-ANGEL / (800) 759-2643.