We are the most effective way to get your press release into the hands of reporters and news producers. Check out our client list.

    | | | |

Chief Justice Moore's Judges Announced

Contact: Liberty Counsel, 800-671-1776, Media@LC.org, Press Kit 
MONTGOMERY, Ala., Nov. 4, 2016 /Christian Newswire/ -- Governor Bentley announced the seven replacement judges who will preside over the appeal for Chief Justice Roy Moore. The final panel of judges were selected from a pool of 50 retired appellate justices and judges, circuit court judges, and district court judges and are as follows:

  1. H. Edward McFerrin
  2. Robert Cahill
  3. William King
  4. James Reid
  5. Lynn Bright
  6. Ralph Ferguson, Jr.
  7. John Coggin

Liberty Counsel, which represents the Chief Justice, is currently reviewing the selected judges for any conflict of interest concerns. Once the Chief Justice's legal team agrees to the final panel, they will ask the judges for an expedited briefing and to rule on the outstanding motion to unseal the May hearing.

Chief Justice Roy Moore previously filed a motion to unseal the record on the petition he filed in May 2016 against the Judicial Inquiry Commission.

"We are currently reviewing the names of the seven judges that are selected and will make a decision about whether there are names that raise conflict of interest concerns," said Mat Staver, Founder and Chairman of Liberty Counsel. "Chief Justice Moore is entitled to receive a fair hearing. He has also asked for the case to be unsealed and will request this current panel of judges to accommodate his request. The public should now have access to that information."

Liberty Counsel is an international nonprofit, litigation, education, and policy organization dedicated to advancing religious freedom, the sanctity of life, and the family since 1989, by providing pro bono assistance and representation on these and related topics.